02-22-2018 School news & calendars

THIS “KUTE KID” is… Adonis James Hansen, at 1-year old. His parents are Taylor & Austin Hansen stationed in Okinawa, Japan. Adonis is the grandson of Staci & Phil Lechliter of Quarryville PA and Amber Rose & Joe Riley of Basehor KS. Sandy & Gene Keirnan of Coloma and Beverly & Mike Metzger of Basehor KS are his proud great-grandparents.

Berrien Community Foundation adds four new scholarships for students; applications due March 5

Scholarship applications are available at the Berrien Community Foundation (BCF) and this year brings four new scholarships to the table to help students. The Rodney Weir Scholarship for Coloma Marching Band, The SW MI Human Trafficking Task Force Scholarship, Trefz Family Scholarship, and the Frederick S. Upton Foundation Opportunity Scholarship are the new scholarship programs that have been added to the stable of scholarships administered by the Berrien Community Foundation. “Through the generosity of donors in our community, the BCF scholarship program just keeps growing,” said Berrien Community Foundation President Lisa Cripps-Downey. “We are thrilled to add to the educational opportunities available to everyone in our community, from recent high school graduates, to adults who are returning to school. These four new scholarships will make a tremendous addition.” The Berrien Community Foundation will award almost $150,000 in student scholarships this year. Scholarships come in all shapes and sizes supporting particular schools, careers, or areas of interest. For a full list of scholarships, visit the Berrien Community Foundation website at www.berriencommunity.org/scholar. Applications are due March 5, 2018. The new scholarship programs are quite varied in nature. The Rodney Weir Scholarship for Coloma Marching Band supports a new or returning college student who graduated from Coloma High School and will be participating in marching band in college. The SW MI Human Trafficking Task Force Scholarship was created to support students who have shown a dedication to raising awareness of human trafficking and will be attending Southwestern Michigan College majoring in Health or Criminal Justice. The other two scholarship programs are geared more toward those students with financial need. The Trefz Family Scholarship was created by the family of Josephine Trefz to help Berrien County students who have a financial need and the Frederick S. Upton Opportunity Scholarship will award several financial need scholarships to Berrien County scholars who will be attending a specific list of smaller colleges throughout Michigan. Those wishing to know more about what is available are encouraged to visit www.berriencommunity.org/ scholar for a complete list of scholarships and criteria. Applications can be downloaded from the site. Students can also check with their high school counselors for applications. Decisions will be announced in early May. Please visit www.berriencommunity.org for more information or contact the Berrien Community Foundation at susanmatheny@berriencommunity.org or by calling 269-983-3304 Ext. 4.

W-A-Y Watervliet  High School  Honor Roll – Fall 2017

It is important to recognize students who have demonstrated hard work and have achieved at a high level. Students who have dedicated themselves to reach goals and surpass expectations need to be recognized. W-A-Y Watervliet High School has created an honor roll system to publicly recognize students who have earned 1.5 credits or more for the semester, and earned grades of A’s and B’s or better. Honor Roll for the 2017 Fall Semester is as follows: 1.5 credits or more – All A’s: Brandon Rouse; B or better: Sidney Barchett, Cheyenne Burdick, Cali Doty*, Erika Gunn, Sara Krieger*, Nadia Lauzon, Ashley Marshall, Kaileigh McNew, Emily Moats, Erica Ruiz, Hunter Sapp, Eric Varvel 2.0 credits or more – B or better: James Byrd, Kyra Davis, Shaina Kiser*, Gerardo Martinez, Maria Palacios, Kayla Spears, Jasmine Stenske, Sasha Veal, Carly Zavoral 3 credits or more – B or better: Matthew Bryant*, Evan Gillenwater*, CJ Whitaker* 5 credits or more – B or better: Kendall Christopher, Elizabeth Snider 14 credits or more – B or better: Miranda Green * Met all graduation requirements The W-A-Y Watervliet High School staff is very proud of all of their students, and wanted to recognize the students mentioned above who have used strong work ethic, drive and dedication towards their educational goals, and achieve at such a high standard.

Grand Valley State University Dean’s List Fall 2017

Grand Valley State University announces the names of students who were placed on the dean’s list for the Fall 2017 semester concluding in December. The list includes those students who have maintained a 3.5 grade point average and been enrolled in a minimum of 12 credits. Students honored for the fall semester include: Sarah Czuba, Chelsea Glisson, and Stephanie Owen from Coloma; Kate Malburg, Cody Ryan, Olivia Thibeault and Jenna Wess from Watervliet.