06-06-2019 Coloma graduate Hannah Mathis received Green and Gold Award; Yazel and Chapin named WH

Coloma graduate Hannah Mathis received Green and Gold Award

By Annette Christie The Green and Gold Award was presented to 2019 graduate Hannah Mathis at the Coloma High School graduation ceremony Friday night, May 31. The Green and Gold Award was established in 1931. It is the most prestigious honor of Coloma High School. The student receiving this award is a person who has displayed the outstanding qualities of scholarship, industry, leadership and citizenship throughout their four years in high school. The recipient shall have been influential in the promotion of school activities as well as an active participant and is selected by the high school faculty. Hannah Mathis

COLOMA TOP HONOR… Coloma High School Principal Mike Churchill presents the coveted Green and Gold Award to 2019 Coloma High School graduate Hannah Mathis. (TCR photo by Annette Christie)

Mathis is a member of the National Honor Society and is one of the top ten students for the Class of 2019. She participated in softball, volleyball, and basketball. Her future plans are to attend Saint Mary’s of Notre Dame. Students involved in the ceremony were class officers Faith Hester, president; Zachary Lake, vice president; Cassidy Dryer, secretary; and Samantha Scott, treasurer. Paige Burgess provided the Commencement address. Seniors in the band and choir performed their last time as a Coloma Comet. The class advisor was Fran Megyese.

Yazel and Chapin named WHS Outstanding Students

By Annette Christie The Watervliet High School 130th Graduation Ceremony was held in Panther Stadium on Friday night, May 31. Traditionally, the Outstanding Senior Boy and Outstanding Senior Girl were named for the Class of 2019.

Allen Chapin III Allen Chapin III was named the Outstanding Senior Boy. He is the son of Ginnette Chapin and Allen Chapin. He finished 13th in his class with a 3.8 grade point average. Chapin’s many accomplishments include: President of the National Honor Society; member of Student Council; lettered in football and track; member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes; cast member in WHS variety shows and musical; morning announcement emcee; and is a Co-Mr. Watervliet representative. Chapin recently passed certification through Van Buren ISD Tech Center in the Fire Science Program and will be entering active duty this October in the United States Marine Corp. His future plan is to enter the Secret Service.

WATERVLIET OUTSTANDING SENIORS… Class of 2019 WHS Outstanding Boy and Girl were named at the graduation ceremony held Friday night. Allen Chapin III (left) and Emma Yazel (right) were presented with the honor. (TCR photo by Annette Christie)

Emma Yazel Emma Yazel was named the Outstanding Senior Girl. She is the daughter of Rebecca Yazel and Bradley Yazel. She finished 16th in her class with a 3.61 grade point average. Emma’s many accomplishments while as a student in Watervliet Public Schools are: Vice President of the National Honor Society; member of Student Council; lettered in volleyball, basketball, and track; recipient of the Outstanding Senior Athlete Award; MVP in track, senior year; First runner-up to Miss Watervliet; and is a long running scorekeeper for the Panther wrestling team. In addition, Yazel was the recipient of the following scholarships: Ken Bannen, Lion’s Club and Eugene Bednarowski Memorial Scholarship. Following graduation, Emma will be heading to Wayne State University this fall to pursue a degree in Public Health with the goal of heading to medical school. Senior Scholars Lindsay Adams, Elaine Koshar, Emma Kraklau, Brenna Langston, and Hannah Nye provided an address to the audience with words of remembrance, inspiration, and gratefulness for teachers, family and friends. The greetings and response were provided by Payton Priebe, Natalie Wesaw, and Allen Chapin III. Class of 2019 advisors were Mrs. Tara Matthews and Miss Rebecca Yazel.

Top Ten students provide address at

Hartford High School graduation

By Annette Christie The Hartford High School graduation ceremony was held Friday night, May 31, and featured Top Ten students as speakers. Class President Makiah Tripp and Class Vice President Brynn Duffy were the selected honor student representatives that addressed graduates and ceremony attendees. Treasurer Mariela Gutierrez Quintana and Secretary Abigail Garcia round out the Class Officers. The ceremony featured the high school band playing “September” and recognition of the fifty year graduates. Superintendent Andrew Hubbard provided the certification of the graduating class and the presentation of diplomas.

HARTFORD HIGH SCHOOL Class of 2019 Class President Makiah Tripp speaks during the commencement ceremony held on Friday night. (TCR photo by Annette Christie)

Watervliet Library receives park award and honors retired trustee

Watervliet District Library’s Garden Park was a hub of activity Monday, June 3, recognizing two important additions to the Park. A crowd of twenty-five local and regional officials, business owners, library board members and community supporters gathered for presentation of the Community Landscape Beautification Award. This designation is bestowed each year on qualifying community parks by the Michigan Nursery and Landscaping Association (MNLA). On hand were Kelley Mireles, presenting the award on behalf of the Association, State Senator Kim LaSata and State Representative Pauline Wendzel. Library director Sharon Crotser-Toy accepted the award for the Watervliet District Library’s staff and Board of Trustees. The award is offered annually by the MNLA through their Plant Michigan Green initiative, designed to recognize and support beautiful and environmentally healthy landscape projects. The Association offers Michigan gardeners ideas and inspiration for new projects, answers to their gardening questions or experts to solve complex problems. The library was chosen as one of fourteen locations across the state meeting the Association’s aesthetic and environmental qualifications.

LIBRARY PARK AWARD CEREMONY… Monday, June 3 the Watervliet Library Garden Park received recognition for its beautification to the City of Watervliet. In addition, service to the library was also recognized. Pictured from the ceremony are (from the left): Sara Duris, Senator Kim LaSata, Kelley Mireles, Anne Bayer, Ardie Roth, Sharon Croster-Toy, Pat Geisler, Anna Brooks, Mary Tatter, Patty Steinhauser, and Kristy Noack. (Karl Bayer photo)

The park was further enhanced by the addition of a new piece of artwork in honor of retired trustee Ann Bayer whose ten years of service to the board and the library community were recognized during the ceremony. The kinetic garden sculpture is the work of artist Peter Griz, and was chosen as a lasting tribute to Trustee Bayer’s decade of dedication to the library and support for many projects, especially the library’s park.


Related Posts

See All

Van Buren Youth Fair offered full fair experience

At the beginning of the year, the Van Buren Youth Fair Board was faced with a difficult task as it and the rest of the world was struggling with COVID-19. Would there be a 2021 Van Buren Youth Fair, a