06-08-2017 More Tri-City Area Senior Awards; Coloma’s Greg Olsen wins 2017 Noack Scholarship; Van Bu

Lakeland Hospital, Watervliet Auxiliary honors volunteers, awards scholarships

 Lakeland Hospital, Watervliet recently hosted their annual luncheon at the Paw Paw Lake Yacht Club to honor nearly 80 volunteers who contributed 14,415 hours of service in fiscal year 2016. During the event longtime volunteer, Darlene Adams was honored for her years of service. Since she began volunteering at the hospital in 1988, Adams has completed over 9,300 hours of service.

SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS… (From the left) Cassie Gohr, Paul Chappell and Magdalene Lynch were awarded scholarships from Lakeland Hospital, Watervliet Auxiliary or Foundation; all three 2017 graduates are pursuing college degrees in health related studies.

Adams currently volunteers at the Information Desk, greeting patients and guests and assisting patients with the registration process. Adams also knits lap robes for patients who stay at the hospital and helps with various fund-raising events throughout the year.

“Darlene is a valuable member of our volunteer team and the Auxiliary congratulates her on this amazing achievement,” said Mary Spessard, Volunteer Coordinator, Lakeland Hospital, Watervliet Auxiliary.

Two local high school seniors were also awarded scholarships on behalf of the Auxiliary during the luncheon. Magdalene Lynch, a 2017 Watervliet High School graduate, received a $2,000 scholarship. Lynch will be attending Kalamazoo Valley Community College to study dental hygiene. Paul Chappell, a 2017 Hartford High School graduate, received a $2,000 scholarship to attend the Frederick Meijer Honors College at Grand Valley State University with hopes of becoming an emergency medicine physician.

In addition, Cassie Gohr, a 2017 graduate of Watervliet High School, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship on behalf of Lakeland Hospital, Watervliet Foundation. Gohr will attend Western Michigan University to pursue a bachelor’s degree in nursing.

Coloma’s Greg Olsen wins 2017 Noack Scholarship

 Greg Olsen, 17, a senior at Coloma High School was awarded the 2017 Noack Scholarship Tuesday, May 9 during the school’s Senior Awards Night.

Olsen has earned a 4.3 GPA while at CHS and is a member of the cross country and track teams, as well as the National Honor Society. He is the treasurer of the Math and Science Center Student Government.

Olsen is an employee of Frosty Boy, in Watervliet. He enjoys music, especially the electric guitar, piano and ukulele.

Upon graduating from CHS, Olsen will become a Spartan at Michigan State University in Lansing this fall.

The Noack Scholarship was created by Michael and Kristin (Evett) Noack in 2009, and this year marks the ninth annual $500 scholarship presentation to a CHS senior. The scholarship was established as a way for Michael and Kristin, CHS alumni from the Classes of 1985 and 1993, respectively, to honor their high school and community.

SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS… Hartford Foundation Trustee Becky Traver and Vice President Jon Bisnett present the giant check of annual scholar-ships to the Hartford High School Class of 2017. Pictured (from the left) Front row: Marrissa Pritchard, Traver, Kristen Edge, Sarah Rice, Bisnett, Ashley Kling, Madelyn MacMillan; Back row: Hunter Ackerman, Michael Boyd, Olivia Kling, Brittney Smith, Amber Mar-tin, Marisol Martinez, Mariah Costner, Clarikssa Mejia, Tabi-tha Cortez, Maria Lopez, Ca-men Calvillo, Jessica Lucero, Tristan Hanners, and Paul Chappell. When one adds in the Foundation’s combined awards jointly funded with its corporate partners including Four Winds Casino, Pokagon Band, Art & Bonna Vanderlyn Trust and the family of Dr. Dell Stagg; the grand total actually exceeds $25,000! (TCR photo by Jon Bisnett)

Van Buren Technology Center students recognized at Bpa National Leadership Conference in Orlando

 On March 10-14, over 6,000 middle school, high school and college students from 19 states and Puerto Rico par­ticipated in the 51st Annual Business Professionals of America National Leadership Conference in Orlando, Florida. Four students from the Van Buren Technology Center worked their way through regional and state competitions to earn the right to attend.

During the five day event, there were a variety of activities including sixty individual and team competitions, a dozen open events, a dozen professional development sessions, industry certification tests, full general assemblies and campaign rallies for the election of national officers and many fun extra-curricular activities including a day at Disney World Epcot Center and an outdoor Palooza Extravaganza event at the Dolphin/Swan hotel complex with food, music, dancing and fireworks.

Aaron Nance, Senior, Watervliet High School has been a student at Van Buren Technology Center. He was awarded 5th Place – Network Administration Using Microsoft and received Microsoft Technology Associate Certification: 98-365: MTA Windows Server Administration Fundamentals.

Nance is receiving a $24,000 scholarship from Davenport University because of his accomplishments at BPA NLC. He will be attending Davenport University in the fall pursuing a degree in Network Management, Security & Administration.

For more information, photographs and video go to the Michigan BPA web site at www.MichiganBPA.org and the BPA National website at www.bpa.org.

BAND DIRECTOR’S AWARDS… Madison McQuillan (left) and Ava Genovese (right) were presented with the 2017 Band Director’s Awards. Madison, the eighth grade award recipient, is the daughter of Drew & Lindsey McQuillan and she plays trumpet in the Coloma Junior High Band. Ava, the seventh grade award recipient, is the daughter of David & Theresa Genovese and she plays flute in the Coloma Junior High Band. They were chosen by Mrs. Cheryl Thomas, Director of Bands for their dedication, leadership, and musician-ship.

SOUSA & ARMSTRONG AWARDS… Brad Kelley, Coloma High School senior, was presented with the John Philip Sousa Award & the Louis Armstrong Award at the Colo-ma Spring Band Concert on May 16. He was chosen by the band and band director Mrs. Cheryl Thomas based on his leadership, dedication, and mu-sicianship. Brad, the son of Deanna Kroschel, plays trumpet in the concert, marching, jazz, and pep bands. He plans to attend WMU next fall.

MYERS SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS… Hartford High School’s Myers Scholarship salutes the life of Ayleen Myers who for 42 years served the school district as secretary to the superintendent and spent another 22 as bookkeeper at the high school. She and her hus-band Charles’ frugal lifestyle amassed a small fortune, with the lion’s share donated to the school she served for some 65 years. Local legend has it that any time school budget “belt-tightening” would occur throughout the years, Myers would hold her own personal payroll checks in her drawer until the storm had passed just in case the school needed the extra cash. Each year the perpetual award goes to the best of the best; as the top five students of the 2017 graduating class (from the left) Hunter Acker-man, Sandra Perez, Marrissa Pritchard, Mariel Hallgren and Paul Chappell each received a check in the amount $3,700 to further their education. (TCR photo by Jon Bisnett)


Related Posts

See All

Van Buren Youth Fair offered full fair experience

At the beginning of the year, the Van Buren Youth Fair Board was faced with a difficult task as it and the rest of the world was struggling with COVID-19. Would there be a 2021 Van Buren Youth Fair, a