07-26-2018 Tri-City Area Sports

Comet athletes awarded for spring sports success

Coloma will need to clear out some space in the glass awards case as plenty of Comet athletes brought home awards for spring sports.

In baseball, Coloma claimed a district championship before falling in regionals. Additionally, Calvin Starnes, Robbie Schroeder, and Ethan Price were named First Team All-Division winners in the Southwestern Athletic Conference.

SAC Honorable Mention honors went to Nathan Wilder and Kenyon Boyd.

Starnes was also named Division 3 All-State First Team for his work on the mound.

The Coloma varsity softball team earned plenty of well-deserved accolades after a stunning season. The squad captured the school’s first ever softball state title, the regional champion crown, and district championship title. Key to that success was the talent of the team.

Winning First Team All-Division honors in the SAC was Kayla Yore, Skylar Crisenbery, Morgan Wagner, Jaidyn Hutsell, Mya Potter, and Megan Koenigshof.

Samantha Stewart and Megan Neubecker were awarded Honorable Mention nods.

COLOMA 8U ALL STARS… Members of the 2018 Coloma 8U All Star team are (from the left) Front row – Ethen Schelling, Jayden Hampton, Aiden Schoedein, Bryce Cartwright, Brody Ashley, and Zack Nord; Middle row – Brody Winnell, Masyn Hess, Ross Smothers, Carson Coble, Hunter Crumley; Back row – coaches John Dahlquist, Kenny Ashley, Mark Coble, and Gordie Cartwright. Sponsors for this year are Coloma Youth Baseball Softball Association, Diamond Factory Service, Don Young Insurance Agency, Watervliet State Farm, and Ace Septic – Mike Hess.

Yore, Koenigshof, Wagner, Crisenbery, and Hutsell were also named Division 3 First Team All-State.

Yore, Wagner, and Hutsell were part of the D3 White state All-Star team that took the field for one final game to close out their senior year.  The game was held Wednesday, July 18 at Jonker Stadium on the campus of Central Michigan University.

Wagner finished out her senior season with an exceptional honor. She was one of four finalists for Miss Softball.

The Michigan High School Softball Coaches Association selects two Miss Softball recipients each season, a pitcher and a position player. Four players, one from each Division, are selected as finalists. From the finalists’ pool, one winner is chosen.

As a catcher, Wagner joined Richmond’s Carley Barjaktanovich from Division 2, Rogers City’s Kayla Rabeau from Division 4, and Division 1 infielder Paige Blevins of Clarkson in the running. Blevins was selected as Miss Softball out of the four position players nominated.

On the soccer field, Mackenzie Ecker and Emma Vandermolen received First Team All-Conference awards.  Honorable Mention awards were earned by Abby Vandermolen, Grace Gagliardo, Katelyn Johnson, and Emma Watson.

Two Comet tennis players received All-Conference recognition for their work on the court.  Lindsey Robinson and Tonya Perea were named First Team.  Samantha Schreiber and Samantha Fischer were selected as All-Conference Honorable Mention recipients.

The Comet track team had plenty of superstars as well.

Caleb Ellis, Sincere Taylor, Josh Young, and Derek Plitt b