08-24-2017 Tri-City Area Sports

Kyle Busch bags Bristol Series trophies

If there is a master of Bristol Motor Speedway it just might be Kyle Busch. Busch won all three events, beginning Wednesday last week, at the track, including the Camping World Truck Series, Xfinity Series, and NASCAR Cup Series races.

In Saturday’s Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race, the 24th race of the NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series season, Busch shot his way around the track and took the checkered flag. The victory was Busch’s second this season and 40th of his career.

Busch led 156 of the race’s 500 laps.

While Busch capped off an epic week, a rookie didn’t fare too badly either. Erik Jones, in his first full year on the NASCAR circuit, not only led Saturday’s race but led a race-high 260 laps. He started from the pole position and finished second on the night, earning the third top five finish of his career. Jones, who hails from Byron, Michigan, celebrated his first pole position and first time finishing in the top two of a NASCAR event. Jones ran in three NASCAR races last year but did not finish in the top 10 in any of the races. Saturday’s running and finish was quite a boon for the young driver.

Denny Hamlin, who has one win this season, finished third. Matt Kenseth took fourth place. He led 11 laps during the race. Kenseth remains winless this season, although he earned his seventh top five finish.

Kurt Busch finished fifth and has one win under his belt this season.

Drivers who led laps but did not finish in the top five include: Ryan Newman (1), Kyle Larson (70), and Chase Elliott (2). The lead changed 21 times Saturday night.

Additionally, there were eight caution periods for 53 laps, and 15 drivers finished on the lead lap.

As we head toward the playoffs, Martin Truex Jr. leads the driver standings with four wins. Kyle Busch trails Truex Jr. by 101 points in second place.

Kyle Larson is in third place, 106 points behind Truex Jr. He is followed by Kevin Harvick, 127 points out, and Denny Hamlin, trailing 198 points.

The drivers get next weekend off before heading to Darlington Raceway for the Bojangles’ Southern 500 on Sunday, September 3. Truex Jr. won the event last year, but Kenseth won it in 2013 and Harvick claimed the trophy in 2014. Will we see a repeat winner or will Erik Jones make his mark?

Let the TCR Armchair Quarterbacking begin!